General

  • Some acronyms for script names, used throughout this web site:
    SMP: Social Media Popup
    SMPL: Social Media PageLock
    SA: Sneaky Affiliate
    EP: Exit Popup
    LBP: ListBuilder Popup for DAP
  • If you are testing SMP, SMPL, EP or SA: Remember that if you use it once and see the popup, then the cookie will get set on your computer for as many days as the cookie setting in the plugin configurations. And for that many days, you will normally not be able to see the popup again. However, if you’re testing, and making changes to the plugin configs, then you DO want to see the popup again so you can test your changes you just made. So, for testing purposes, if you wish to clear the cookie each time after you test (so the popup shows up again), just go to the WordPress page where you have the plugin shortcode, and hit “Update”. When you do that, the cookies will be cleared, and if you went back to the page’s permalink to see the changes, you will see the plugin back in action again.

Social Media Popup (SMP) & Social Media PageLock (SMPL)

  • If a user “likes” your content using one of the social media buttons, the hidden content behind the buttons will automatically appear.
  • Also when the user completes a “like” on any one of the supported social networks (FaceBook, Google+, Twitter & LinkedIn), a cookie will get set so if the same visitor comes back to the same page, the content will NOT become hidden again. The duration for which the content remains hidden to a ‘returning’ user/visitor depends on your cookie setting that you can set in the plugin’s configuration popup.
  • If you are the site admin and testing SMPL or SMP, remember that everytime you update a page or a post that has SMP / SMPL shortcodes, the cookie will clear.. so if you completed a like and then went back and saved the page/post, and then revisited the page, the buttons will re-appear and the content will become hidden (even though you had previously liked it). This is just so you can test the buttons without having to manually clear the cookie each time in your browser.
  • So don’t worry if the content becomes hidden again even after you like it once… if you save the page/post where the content lives, then the browser cookie will clear on your computer, so if you go back to the same page/post on your browser, the  content will be hidden again.
  • This is applicable only to the plugins SMP, SMPL and LBP: Say you have already inserted the plugin shortcodes, do a quick test, and then wish to change the plugin configuration. You then want the editor button to remember your previous settings for that plugin. To do that, just select the entire contents of the shortcode – starting with

     
    – and then click on the editor button. It will remember all your previous settings and put them all back in the plugin editor window back into the same fields.

Sneak Affiliate (SA) & Exit Popup (EP)

  • The main difference between EP and SA is that SA allows you to redirect to a page on a different domain while with EP, the page needs to be on the same domain.
  • EP will work if you have a page that resides on the same domain where exit popup resides and you want the contents of the page to show up in the background automatically on exit action (i.e., when a user is trying to leave your site either by typing in the URL of a different web site, or simply by trying to close the browser window).
  • But if the page that you want to show in the background when a user is leaving is on a different domain, then use SA. The Sneaky Affiliate plugin serves dual purpose: It will work as a simple exit redirect plugin, and in addition, you can also use it to automatically redirect the visitor’s browser to an affiliate URL which would then set your affiliate cookie on the visitor’s browser.
  • If your exit page is on the same domain, we recommend that you use the EP plugin as it will load faster. But if the page is on a different domain or you run into other challenges while using EP, just use SA.
  • BOTH (SA / EP) should ONLY trigger when :
    1. Visitor clicks on the brower’s “back” button
    2. Clicks the “X” image to close the browser tab or window
    3. Enters a different web site address in the browser’s address bar
  • It should NOT trigger when a link or a button on the page is clicked.